More News

Local Student Inducted into School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

May 25, 2022
Sedro-Woolley School District

In recognition of her dedication to traffic safety, community stewardship and leadership, Josephine Houtby, a sixth-grade student at Central Elementary School, was recently chosen for induction into the 2022 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Release Photo Josephine Houtby

Central Elementary’s AAA School Safety Patrol advisor, Kimberly Ruiz, describes Josephine as a great leader who gives patrol her full attention while on duty.

“Josephine is the first patroller to step up and help the younger patrollers/new patrollers feel comfortable doing their job,” Ruiz said. “She is always following the rules and does her best to encourage others to do the same.”

According to Ruiz, Josephine is very considerate and supportive of others. When she sees something that needs attention, Ruiz says she either jumps in to solve it or seeks assistance from an adult.

“She stays in contact with me, mostly through email, with any concerns she has or any issue she feels needs to be discussed at our meetings,” Ruiz said.

As a long-standing tradition, a panel of judges from AAA Washington, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission chooses ten patrollers to induct into the AAA Washington School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. Nominations require input from both the patroller and their advisor, including responses to a series of essay questions. This year’s inductees represent elementary schools from rural and urban communities across the state.
AAA created the School Safety Patrol 102 years ago and partners with local agencies to bring the program to elementary schools across Washington. AAA Washington has been inducting outstanding patrollers into the local Hall of Fame for 30 years.